Exhaustion

There are times when the last thing I want to do is write a blog post. The idea of putting together 500+ words together coherently and intelligently just feels overly daunting. So instead, I surrendered to my inner poet and wrote about how tired I’ve been feeling as of late.


 

EXHAUSTION

The ache
The pain
The soreness
Both physical and mental

Gravity is compounded
Weight upon weight
With no relief in sight
The hurt continues

Another day of work
Another day of tasks
Another day of hoping
For moments like this to pass

I try to breathe
But my shrunken lungs wail
My muscles tremble
Rebelling against what I ask them to do

The well is deeper than I first thought
The tunnel is longer
And darker
And scarier

I long not for joy
Nor pleasure
Just relief
Simple, unadulterated relief

It will come
I know this
I believe this
I so desperately hope

But until then
My distress goes on
And through teary eyes
I seek desperately for relief

see more poetry
6 thoughts on “Exhaustion

    1. I can’t say that I’ll be back to Facebook anytime soon, but I will definitely be back to writing again soon! Not sure what prompted the much needed break from social media, but it’s been nice. I haven’t felt inspired to write, but starting to get the twitch again. I miss it! Do you ever get tired of hearing yourself talk? I think that’s how I’ve felt– just needed a break from myself LOL.

      Thanks, Gil!

      1. Absolutely. Light at the end of the tunnel, even though I know much the suck will be until then.

        But hey, at least it’s not snowing in Tampa!

Leave a Reply

