Today I am grateful for online courses. When I first began pursuing a degree in Christian Ministry at Trinity College of Florida, my first class was online. I hated it. Online learning was foreign to me, and I felt I could get so much more out of being in a classroom environment. It’s funny how things change as time passes.

Although there is something to be said about engagement with professors and other students in the classroom, I now love taking my classes online. Over the last eighteen months I’ve learned to adapt to the pace and self-discipline of online education. Plus, I don’t miss the hour commute to the Trinity campus.

Most importantly, however, I remember the bummer that was being in class this time last year and missing out on the College Football Playoff National Championship game. It was normal for me to bring a laptop to class in order to take notes, but I remember deliberately sitting in the back of class so I could discretely stream the game on my computer.

No such concerns this year. With all my classes now online, I no longer have to worry about such petty conflicts. Biblical Ethics or Bama vs. Clemson? Yeah, it was nice not having to deal with that this year.

But as wonderful as it was being able to enjoy the game in the comfort of my own home, the surprise I received later made it truly remarkable.

My son’s parkour classes are every evening from 7-9 PM, and every day we – my kids, my ex, and I – hash out the logistics for that day. The initial game plan was for me to drop Daniel off at class and have my daughter Natalie pick him up. When my son texted us stating he was going to skip class this evening, it released Natalie and me from the aforementioned pick up and drop off duties.

What I didn’t know was that Natalie, whose been accepted to the University of Alabama and had a keen interest in watching the game, would come over to watch the game with me. It was great to share that experience with her. I love that she has a genuine interest in learning the game, and it was so rewarding being able to be a resource for her in that way. It was a spontaneous and different and something I know I will cherish for years to come.

Bama

Today I am thankful my son bailed on his parkour class. I am also thankful for the loving and sentimental nature of my daughter, and her thoughtfulness with regards to making an average evening so incredibly memorable. We still don’t know where she will attend, but I am thankful she has a variety of options from which to choose. It’s truly a blessing.

2 thoughts on “Project Gratitude – Online and In Heart

  1. Awesome, Gil ! Thank you for sharing your walk of faith. Congratulations for your daughter’s acceptance..I’m sure one of many! Will be praying for her as she makes her decision ….as a Dad, I have been through this experience with my two daughters. Our children are such wonderful blessings! The college decision process was quite an adventure!!

    1. Thank you, Rick. Children are indeed such a wonderful blessing. I ask you please pray that God reveal the solution to determine Natalie’s choice for university. Right now it’s a matter of finances and whether or not we can afford sending her to Alabama (as opposed to an in-state school). I greatly appreciate your continued support, brother.

Leave a comment