Although I didn’t take any time off during the holidays, the fact so many other people did made it seem like it was a working vacation. Needless to say, getting back into the swing of things at work was not something to which I was looking forward, but it was a relatively easy day at the desk. So I am very thankful God provided an easy transition on this first work day of the new year.

As I continue to record the things for which I am grateful, I wanted to share this image that truly speaks to the core of my spirit of thanksgiving. I think it sums up my story and how God took my broken and made something beautiful.

Thankful

I am also thankful for my first sale via the LetGo app. Lee and I want to make 2017 a year of downsizing. Although we’ve taken small steps in that direction, we really want to make an audacious effort to get rid of the excess ‘stuff’ we have, either by sale, donation, or gifting to others. The first sale – Lee’s motorcycle helmet – was completed today, and I am stoked at the idea of listing as many items as possible on the app.

Helmet

I had to meet the buyer of the helmet, so Lee and I decided to make it an impromptu date night and grab dinner. We headed over to Portillo’s and enjoyed the food and each other’s company.

Portillo'

I am thankful I am married to my best friend and partner in life.

4 thoughts on “Project Gratitude – Back to the Grind

    1. Thank you, Debora. Alas, I’ll be starting the BCW year with another absence, but for a really good reason. I will be in the D.R. on mission trip with our church. We miss the fellowship with our tribe of writers.

  1. Happy New Year to you and Lee, Gil. May the downsizing resolution be very successful for you. Love the quote by Mike Foster, too. God has it all in His hands and He uses every.single.element of our lives for good. Enjoy that mission trip – another of your exciting New Year experiences.

    1. Thank you, Cheryl. I am looking forward to the trip and to continuing on a path of simplifying through downsizing. We sold another item today (Yay God), and we’ve been blessed with the realization that experiences from 10 and 20 years ago are helping us manage new challenges today.

Leave a Reply

