As part of National Blog Posting Month (NaBloPoMo), I am taking part in a daily blog post challenge through the BlogHer website. Today’s prompt:

When was the last time you did something brave? What happened?


I like to think I have a pretty high tolerance for pain, but I am by no means one of those adrenaline junkies that get a thrill from enduring grueling and painful conditions. For the most part, I embrace my lazy side and you can usually find me on the corner of comfy and cozy. So it took focused determination to pull the trigger on an idea I’ve had brewing in my mind for …. well years.

My wife and I are planning to transition to full time mission work in the 2019 – 2020 time frame. We’ve participated in several short-term missions with our church, and our hearts are in dedicating ourselves to serving God with all we have. One of our favorite memories is being in the Dominican Republic with our pastor who has the story of King David tattooed on both his arms. Who knew permanent ink on skin could be a tool to evangelize the word of God?

Pastor Paul Wirth
Pastor Paul Wirth

As we prepare for our third visit to the D.R. in January, I wanted to take a page from my pastor’s playbook and wear my faith on my sleeve as well. So tonight, while basically all of America was watching Game 7 of the World Series, I was sitting in a chair at my friend’s tattoo shop getting my first (and second) ever tattoos.

I’ll admit, brave perhaps is not the most appropriate word to describe my decision, but it’s not something into which I entered lightly. There was the uncertainty of how painful actually getting a tattoo would be. There was the concern of how they would come out. There was a touch of anxiety at the thought of eventually showing them to my mom. There were a lot of hurdles, mostly mental, I had to clear to bite the bullet and get inked.

…but in the end, I remembered that fear is not from God, and after all He’s done for me, wearing my faith for everyone to see and using the talents of my friend and tattoo artist Shawn to help share Christ with others is the least I can do for Him. I guess if I really think about it, there was nothing to be scared about at all.

20161102_223401


nablopomo

5 thoughts on “Pain, Ink.

  1. Congratulations on the new and purposeful ink! The best tattoos tell a story.. and the story your’s tells is the most important one of all.. Thank you for writing about it!

    1. Thank you, Melanie. It was a big step for me, but one I believe will help keep me aligned with where I want to be. They’re hard to ignore, so when it comes to deciding about doing the right thing, they will easily remind me. Glad you liked the post.

  2. That’s awesome and congrats!!! Looks great and I love it! I have Psalm 46:5 on my foot – God is within her, she will not fail. It is the reminder that I need to know that I can always follow His leading with no fear.

    1. Thanks, Melissa. I love the verse you selected as well. Sometimes it’s hard to explain why having verses inked on us is important (to serve as reminders and keep us on track), but it’s so easy to slip. Speaking for myself, I need all the help I can get in remembering to surrender it all to Him.

Leave a Reply

