Decades and Decibles

I’ve mentioned before how the tempest season in my life was from September 2004 – December 2005. Although there were a lot of great memories made in that time span, I used to look back on that period and remember mostly the pain.

Today marks the ten-year mark of the end of that season. Ten years ago today, my world as I knew it (as I wanted to know it) came to an end. I was left battered and beaten, face down in my own rock-bottom reality.

Following this event, God steered me to where He wanted and needed me to be. He began the process of taken my broken and making something beautiful out of it. I couldn’t see it at the time, but in looking back over the last ten years, it’s clear as day that is what He did.

As I look back on that time, I see the path He laid out for me and the journey I’ve been able to travel with my now wife Lee. I no longer see the pain that used to be there. I no longer feel the angst and restless despair that clouded my judgement and stunted my growth in the early part of 2006. That noise that was deafening is now completely gone.

It is such a blessing to be able to look back and see the positives, all the while appreciating the knowledge it was the negative that made it possible. It’s the serenity of the calm drowning out the noise of the past.

As I checked out my Facebook feed this morning, the very first post I saw was one from writer Mitch Albom. It was so very appropriate and I know it was a gift from God to remind me of how far I’ve come since that evening ten years ago.

Mitch

Having watched Star Wars : The Force Awakens this weekend (saw it twice), there is a line from the character Maz Kanata that ties in nicely to this post. It is something I wish someone would have told me when I was struggling to see past the next day of my disarrayed life.

“Dear child, the belonging you seek is not behind you. It is ahead.”

Tough times come and tough times go. Life is not easy, and Jesus never said it would be. But by surrendering our troubles to the Lord, we’re able to overcome our obstacles, grow in love and faith in him, and find the joy and peace God makes available to us.

“I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.” – John 16:33

 

 

 

 

.

 

4 thoughts on “Decades and Decibles

  1. What a great message for this time of year and the New Year, Gil. God’s beautiful beginnings typically come from our desperate places. I love this testimony of how the perspective of 10 years sees things so differently. And I’m thankful for your sharing!

Leave a Reply

