Weirdo

On my faith journey, I’ve learned one of the most difficult things to do as a Christ follower is to let go of things of this world and replace them with what God is calling us to experience.

In high school, I was known to be a social butterfly. During lunch, I would flutter from table to table saying hi to anyone and everyone. I was my very own, personal social media service. And at the center of it all was my desire to be liked by everyone.

Fast forward twenty five plus years (yes, I’m that old) and I find  myself in a small group for church reading and discussing the book Weird by Craig Groeschel. In one of the chapters, Groeschel says, “People pleasing is a form of idolatry. We have to be weird enough not to care what people think of who we are and how we live. Living for others’ opinions is putting people ahead of God.”

Although the last five years have taught me that in bits and pieces, reading it so matter-of-factly in the book hit me like a ton of bricks. I had never thought of it as a form of idolatry, as an affront to God. But God make us individually and uniquely. He made us with a purpose to serve Him.

So the next time you feel like the outsider or that people feel you’re strange because you’re sticking to your conviction rather than go with the crowd, remember that our priority is to honor God in all we do and please Him, regardless of what others may think.

“Obviously, I’m not trying to win the approval of people, but of God. If pleasing people were my goal, I would not be Christ’s servant.” Galatians 1:10 (NLT)

image

One thought on “Weirdo

  1. People pleasing and seeking their approval. I think we all still do that as adults.
    It’s natural, we all want to be liked. But I so have my own convictions and stand
    alone sometimes. I like to be liked.

Leave a Reply

