Commission Call

Today is the first day of our mission trip to the Dominican Republic. It’s been several months in the planning and now we’re actually here.

God has been working in me and through me the last couple of years, steering me away from what I thought I wanted – a successful professional career – and into full-on ministry work.

At first, He’s guided me to shift my writing from generic to more specific. He’s called me to use the writing talent He’s given me to share my story and help point others to His love and grace.

Now he’s directing me to step up once again. With this opportunity of the mission trip, a trip made possible because of our church’s partnership with Score International, not only will I be able to bring the Word of God to others, I am also meeting new people that I know will be influential in the next steps of my faith journey.

God does not reveal all the details at once. Rather, He calls us to step forward in faith, knowing this first step is assured in His protection, as are all the other steps that are yet to be revealed. I believe He gave me a glimpse of that next step tonight.

Tonight I got to know a little better the Executive Director of Score International. His name is John Zeller and he began doing his work in ministry at the young age of 54. John responded to God’s calling and has transformed so many lives as a result. I will be 42 next month, and I know God is laughing at me for harboring thoughts that I missed my chance to make a difference.

It’s going to be an interesting week, and I can’t wait to see what He has in store for me and the others on our mission trip team.

“Therefore, go and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. Teach these new disciples to obey all the commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” -Matthew 28:19-20

2 thoughts on “Commission Call

  1. I’m so happy for you two, and like Rick, I also look forward to reading/hearing/seeing more. It’s such a fantastic life when you’re doing God’s will. Bless you and all that He has in store.

Leave a Reply

