Ray Rice, Adrian Peterson, and The Spirit of God

I would love to share all the excellent posts from my friends and the other amazing writers I follow, but this post by the very talented Chris Boeskool is exceptional and one I consider an absolute must-read.

The Boeskool

It should be noted that the first response to this tweet was "Your pastor is a dickwad." It should be noted that the first response to this tweet was “Your pastor is a dickwad.”

I come from “a broken home.” A broken home…. What does that even mean? Most people define a broken home as one where the parents got divorced, but my home was broken by domestic abuse long before it was ever “broken” by divorce. My dad would sometimes get violent when he drank, and my dad drank a lot. My mom agonized over the decision to leave her abusive husband–mostly because the Church told her that doing so would put her in danger of hell. But threatening someone who is stuck in an abusive relationship with “hell” is kind of like telling someone who’s neck-deep in a sewer that they better not try to get out, or else you’ll punish them making them sit in a port-o-potty. When they die. It’s so stupid…. All the shame we put around…

View original post 1,728 more words

Leave a Reply

