It’s Good to be Boring

I had a medical procedure done this morning, one that left me in bit of an anesthesia hangover for the better part of the day. Routine and painless, it was over in 15 minutes. The worst part, however, was the anxiety leading up to today.

I will say everything came back negative, meaning we were able to rule out the ‘something else’ concern that prompted me to go see the doctor in the first place, so yay God for that. And yay God for the opportunity to have the procedure done at a facility close to home, with really friendly staff. And yay God for my medical insurance and my flexible spending account. I can’t even begin to imagine how difficult life is for those who are sick and lacking the means for treatment.

Which gets me to the point of my blog. As I was going through the check-in process, a nurse asked me a series of questions from a checklist. Asthma, high blood pressure, diabetes? No, no, no. Heart condition, shortness of breath, history of cancer? No, no, nope. This went on across two pages. The only interesting fact I provided was a case of MRSA back in 2002.

In looking at the check-in forms, there was nothing but a series of check boxes all marked in the negative. No, zero, zilch.

How boring, I thought. How wonderful, I quickly realized.

Boring

In addition to the blessing of resources God has provided to allow me to ensure my health, He’s also given me the amazing gift of having lived a relatively healthy life. Sure, I’ve had issues on and off with my stomach, had a nerve problem in my shoulder last summer, a migraine here and there; but for the most part, my life has been A-OK.

By comparison, my friend Courtney wrote an amazing piece for Huff Post about a young woman’s struggle with mast cell disease. The subject of the article, Brynn Duncan, lives a life in and out of hospitals. She’s constantly at a doctor’s office. A day of pleasure and comfort is the exception to rules of her life. Brynn’s medical records must read like an encyclopedia. Volume and volume of hospital admissions, tests, screenings, etc. Her every day can be a struggle, and my heart breaks for her and others like her who are battling and surviving with all that they do.

I think about my nearly-blank admission check-list and thank God there’s nothing interesting to find on it. I thank God for the blessing that is a boring medical history. May it stay boring for many years to come.

Lord, your discipline is good, for it leads to life and health. 

You restore my health and allow me to live!” -Isaish 38:16 (NLT)

6 thoughts on “It’s Good to be Boring

  1. Was it a colonoscopy? I’m supposed to have one this year by virtue of my age and family history. I don’t intend to have a bit of anxiety over it. In fact, I plan to have fun. My best-case scenario would be to have it done at a medical school, with a bunch of newbie doc-wanna-bes, and upon entering for the procedure, fine the least likely looking subject, point to him and say “I’ll pay extra if you let him do it!”

    PS Almost 20 years ago I had to have an ultrasound, requiring the probe to go in through the out door. My luck, the tech was this incredibly adorable mid-20s girl. There’s just no way to flirt with a girl when you’re on your side and she’s got a cheek in one hand and a penis-shaped probe in the other.

    I’m shutting up now… 🙂

    PPS Gil, I’m glad you got a clean bill of health. There are many of us, myself included, whi would agree that you’ve added just a little bit of sunshine to our lives!

    1. Glad you got a clean bill of health. I understand all too well the anxiety in the lead up to the procedure, and then the anxiety in waiting to hear the results. As much as I like to find humor in those situations, the under the surface me is scared to beejeezus. Hope to see you guys soon.

      1. Thanks, Marc. Yes, there was some concern and a huge sigh of relief when the doctor gave me an all clear. We’ve seen too many in our music family forced to take on that battle.

  2. Love this, Gil. Yes, thank God every day for your good health and boring medical records. I’m very thankful for my insurance every time I go to the doctor. Hope to see you and Lee soon.

    1. Thank you, Sharron. Yes, such a blessing and I hope I never take for granted the opportunity of being able to visit a doctor and receive treatment for an ailment. If only more people had such opportunities made available to them.

Leave a Reply

