Friendly Friday – Rick Christensen

It’s a known fact. The shortest distance between two points is a straight line. In life, the chapters we write often occur as we travel between differing points in our lives. Some journeys are shorter than others, almost none of them a proverbial straight line.

I often refer to my belief in God as my faith journey. I have set out to walk in faith toward Him, every day hoping to be or do a little better than the day before. Sometimes my faith journey finds me on my own in a dialogue with God. Other times, it’s a walk shared with others, be it through church, charity events, or just simple fellowship.

Lee and I attend meetings of a writer’s group once a month. Brandon Christian Writers has been a wonderful experience for both of us as it’s energized our writing and creative thinking process. It has also introduced us to so many wonderful and talented people, and I would like to take a moment to introduce one of them to you.

Rick Christensen is a dear friend whom I’ve come to know through both his writing as well as our conversations. Although we’re at different stages in our lives, we’ve shared similar paths. We talk about how we’re both on our faith journey, oftentimes apparently walking side by side as we talk about the struggles and challenges we face every day. We both have a love for writing, as well as a desire to grow towards Christ.

This is very evident in Rick’s writing. His words and tone have a delicateness to them, and they are such a joy to consume. Rick calls it gentle witnessing when he shares in his blog Discovering and Sharing Grace his daily experiences with regards to his relationship with God. What I love most about Rick’s writing is that it’s never preacher or verbose. Rather, it’s open and honest stories, metaphors, and anecdotes that tell how he connects with God every day.

Rick has compiled his work into a book, and he was also recently featured in the Tampa Tribune. I hope you take a moment to check out his blog and his book. After all, who doesn’t want a little more grace in their life?

“Walk with the wise and become wise.” – Proverbs 13:20

Rick Christensen

4 thoughts on “Friendly Friday – Rick Christensen

  1. As a writer and literary blogger, I think that faith plays the most important role in our writing lifestyle. I love your discussion of your faith journey; it is so true that we are out on a journey as writers.

    1. Thank you for the comment, Courtney. I remember a time when I did not want to be vocal in my writing about my faith out of fear I would alienate or lose readers. What I’ve found is that I now able to write more freely and be more authentic with my words by being open about my faith and how my faith impacts my life. I find my writing has evolved to a new level because I’ve incorporated my faith into what I produce.

      Wishing you continued success with your blog.

  2. Thanks for sharing our Rick with your other readers, Gil. I really love this Friendly Friday idea. It’s another gentle way to witness about just how many folks are on this adventurous journey to faith. Hope your Friday is the beginning of a fantastic weekend!

    1. Thank you, CJ. Friendly Friday was a result of me realizing how I am blessed to be surrounded by so many outstanding and creative people. I want to share with others their work and their awesomeness.

Leave a Reply

