Molded

I used to love playing with Play-Doh. It’s as if there were an infinite amount of things I could create with that magical substance. Cars, buildings, people, planes: whatever my mind imagined, I could create.

As a little kid, I would marvel at artists who sculpted with clay. The intricacy and detail of their work. It was Starry Night to my stick figure artwork. I never had the patience to try and make my Play-Doh creations anything more than lumps upon lumps.

Play-Doh Dino
I wish my Play-Doh creations as a kid were as cool as this dino.


For the last several years, I feel God has been molding me into a new and better person. He’s been doing this through the experiences He places in my life. Interactions with others, events around the world, my thoughts when I make time to be alone in prayer with Him. I believe He challenges me to move in new directions by squeezing me and reshaping me. I like the quote, “Greatness never occurs in comfort zones”, and I think God wants us to constantly move beyond our those places in which we feel comfortable. 

I wrote last week about my interaction with a homeless man at Starbucks. I saw him again yesterday morning. He mentioned to me how he’d hope to stop by the bank to get money for some new clothes. I didn’t have any cash on me – wish I would have gladly given him – but I did have an Old Navy hoodie in my car. Living in Florida, I use my hoodie a couple of weeks a year, and it’s one of about five that I may have (yeah, I don’t know why I have so many either). I sat in my car and thought about giving the man my hoodie. I don’t know why I didn’t, except to say I was greedy and selfish and didn’t want to part with my possession.

Squeeze.

Sometimes the lesson is not in the moment. Sometimes the lesson is in the 20/20 hindsight God provides us.

I failed Him again. I’ve learned from that experience. I pray that I will be ready the next time God’s hands work on me to move me forward on my faith journey. If I want to be great, I need to move outside of my comfort zone.

“Don’t be greedy, for a greedy person is an idolater, worshiping the things of this world.”

Colossians 3:5 NLT

Leave a Reply

