The Legacy Project

My father was not a wealthy man. Quite the opposite. He and my mother put my brother and me through twelve years of private school, and gave us both the opportunity to attend college. When my father passed away, there was no inheritance to be had, at least not financially speaking. My father did, however, leave me with a treasure chest full of pearls of wisdom, life lessons learned while working at his side as he tackled project after project around the house. I wasn’t just his son, I was his apprentice. And to this day, I still get to surprise my wife from time to time by displaying just how handy I can be.

When it comes time for me to pass on, I don’t know what I will leave my two children. Hopefully, there will be a small nest-egg they can use as they see fit. But more importantly, I hope they get to look back at their childhood and the time we spent together with the same wonder, awe, and admiration that I am able to with my childhood.

It is true that fathers and sons have different relationships than do fathers and daughters. As a dad, I want my daughter to see me as understanding and patient. Less rugged and more comforting. She’s fourteen and very well into that phase of needing daddy less and less. With my son, we still rough-house. We sit and play video games. He farts and hopes I don’t notice. I fart and grin when he does.

Back in 2012, Lee and I attended the local Renaissance Festival. It was fun and interesting ….. and interesting, but we were both captivated by the handmade, leather-bound journals a vendor had for sale. They were a must have. We each bought a small journal. Lee used hers for decor on one of our display cases. I was still unsure about the purpose of mine.

Journal 1

A couple of weeks later, Lee and I were talking about our grand plans once my son, the youngest, graduates from high school in 2019. With nothing necessitating us to remain in the New Tampa area, we explored our options. Move to downtown St. Pete? Move to Key West? Move to Costa Rica? I was sitting at my desk and I glanced at the journal from the festival. Then it hit me. I knew for what I was going to use it!

I decided I would capture some wisdom, encouragement, and inspiration in the pages of the journal. Over the course of the next seven years, I would record favorite quotes and Bible verses. Then, when my son graduated from high school, I would give it to him as a resource on which to lean as he ventures off into college. Thus the Legacy Project was born.

Journal 2

I’ve been at it off and on. Some days I’ll fill three pages with handwritten notes and quotes. Other times weeks will pass with nothing new added. I know I have time, but I also know I have a PhD in procrastination, and as of late it seems the years go by in a blink. So I am sharing this project with you in hopes that you can provide me with some of your favorite quotes, Bible passages, and words of wisdom. I would love to fill the pages of this journal not only with my thoughts, but also with the thoughts of a universal community bound together and forever growing tighter in this digital age.

So if your up for being part of the road map I hope my son will follow when he’s eighteen, please feel free to leave your feedback in the comments section below. After all, it take a village, right?

Journal 4

15 thoughts on “The Legacy Project

  1. Gil, awesome project! Have thought of doing this for my girls and have yet to begin. Thank you for the reminder! Of course, include the greatest movie of all time, Napoleon Dynamite. That said, here is a quote I would like to offer: “Here is a rule for everyday life: Do not do anything which you cannot offer to God.” – St. John Vianney It is a joy to be on my walk of faith with you and Lee!

    1. Thanks so much, Rick, and that is an excellent quote. As for the Napoleon Dynamite thing … maybe it’s just me, but I didn’t like it at all. Scott Pilgrim vs. The Universe, however, had me in stitches.

  2. Your journal legacy project is a great idea, Gil. Mine is to read through a Bible especially purchased for each of my children and grandchildren and make personal notes in the margins of passages I’ve highlighted that will always remind them that Papa God is a real and dynamic force in our lives. They’ll have proof in black and white from the life of Grandma Deb.

  3. A verse I try to live by: Philippians 4:8 (NIV)

    “Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”

  4. I love this quote from author Mary DeMuth:

    “When you love someone, you look for glory and beauty. You cheer for them, cover their mistakes with grace, give them the benefit of the doubt. Oh to live with eyes (and a heart) full of love!”

  5. What a great idea!! I would be so touched to get something like this from one of my parents, he is going to love it! As for quotes/words of wisdom…I’ll get back to you on that haha.

    1. Okay I already thought of one. One of my very, very favorite quotes, it’s a Serbian Proverb:

      “Be humble for you are made of earth. Be noble for you are made of stars.”

      I have it written in my bathroom so I see it every day, it has been more inspiring than I originally thought it would.

Leave a Reply

