Follow the Leader

Tonight was meeting night for our writers group, and we had a wonderful guest speaker in Suzanne Woods Fisher. Suzanne is an accomplished, bestselling, and award-winning author of ‘The Stoney Ridge Seasons’ series and ‘The Lancaster County Secrets’ series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace.

The best part of Suzanne’s presentation was the genuine joy she displays when she talks about writing. Even though she is a professional writer, it clear to see that she writes for the love of the craft. And her number one advice: Take a risk in accepting your calling.

That line really stuck with me, and it reminded me how I shouldn’t be afraid or reluctant about the writing project I’ve had in a drawer for over a year now. I’ve been afraid of the challenge. I’ve been afraid of the subject matter. I’ve been afraid of diving head first into the deep end of the pool.

Suzanne’s message tonight was what I needed in order to get out if first gear. I hope I can follow her example and take small steps – one at a time – to greatness.

Please visit Suzanne online at http://www.suzannewoodsfisher.com

image

4 thoughts on “Follow the Leader

  1. She was wonderful, wasn’t she, Gil. So happy you and Lee were able to be there. I think everyone felt challenged. Look forward to reading your project when you’re ready for the share. No crying in baseball…and no fear in writing.

Leave a Reply

