Missed A Day

So much for posting every day. I’m a little bummed that I had no post on my blog yesterday (Wednesday), but it’s not without good reason.

There are times you have to drop everything for what’s important. Sometimes there’s a phone call or an incident that takes your previously scheduled plans and throw them out the window. There are times when relationship, be it by blood or by choice, takes precedence over whatever it is you thought you needed to do. Wednesday night was one of those nights.

I am very blessed to have many brothers in my life. One is by blood, the others are not. The others are men with whom I interact the most in my day to day (my blood brother lives in South Florida and we see each other only a couple of times per year). The others are the ones with which I get together for beer and barbecue. They are the ones with whom I travel. They are the ones that make up my inner circle, and are the first ones I’d call if something bad happened.

I am also blessed to be considered in the same way by them as well. I’ve maintained for some time that the only thing better than being able to love someone is the knowledge that you are loved. It’s reaffirming and reassuring to know you’re appreciated and, well, needed.

There is something about the love brothers share. It’s seen in locker rooms. You read about it from the battlefields. It truly is hard to explain. So rather than try, I will simply share the poem I wrote several years ago.

You answered the phone when I called late that night
You had my back when I got caught in that fight
You helped me up all those times I fell
You guided me out of my personal hell

It’s strange how strangers can come together
And for this circumstance we are both better … off
Both as individuals and as men
And through it all we’d both do it again

We don’t share DNA, we don’t even share a name
Yet through it all, you’re my brother all the same
We live our lives and go about our separate day to day
But I’m with you, brother, every step of the way

Our kids come together and they play
And we hope that their kids will do the same one day
We watch some football and have some beer
We talk about life and those things we fear

We’ve redefined what it means to be family
‘Cause you and I don’t share a branch on a tree
Yet we share an unspoken love that bonds like no other
A bond that can only be defined as that of a brother

It’s in the lyrics of a classic tune
It’s in the games we watch on Saturday afternoon
It’s in the motorcycles rides that take us away
It’s in all those bar tabs you decided to pay
It’s our respective better halves keeping us straight
It’s knowing because of them we’re able to be great
It’s in keeping perspective every time we compete
It’s in living a life that is full and complete

We don’t share DNA, we don’t even share a name
Yet through it all, you’re my brother all the same
We live our lives and go about our separate day to day
But I’m with you, brother, every step of the way

2 thoughts on “Missed A Day

    1. Thank you so much, Frank. I don’t know where I’d be if not for my guys. Back in 2004 when I felt my world was going to crap, they were there for me time after time, and I honestly feel I would be lost if not for the love, compassion, and guidance provided me by my brothers.

Leave a Reply

