Stop Yelling At Me!

It is said God works in mysterious way. Lately, He hasn’t been so subtle.

I’ve been groping – to myself mostly – about my work situation. It’s un-fulfilling. The corporate culture where I work is ass-backwards. I have more apathy than I know what to do with. But here we are, at the start of a new calendar year. Sixteen and a half years with the same company. About to hit three years in my current position. And every year I do the same thing. I justify a lack of change on ‘flexible schedule’ and ‘convenience’, and then I double-down on the status quo.

And every year God reminds me this is not where He wants me to be. Every year he sends me signs and suggestions. He whispers in my ears and opens my eyes to new possibilities. Yet in the end, I ignore them all.

This past weekend, however, God was being loud and clear with his message to me. It started with a tweet on my Twitter stream. I didn’t save it, but it was something to the effect of, “Only you are responsible for the changes in your life.” Then, I read my daily devotional via YouVersion. This is from the Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life – a Daily Devotional:

“We are partners with God. His part is to give us ability and our part is to be responsible.

Responsibility means ‘to respond to the ability we have.’ An irresponsible person wants God to do everything while he does nothing except follow his feelings.

God cares for you, but He won’t do your part. He enables you to do it, but let me emphasize that He won’t do it for you! I dare you to stand firm, take responsibility and begin working with God to have the blessed life He’s planned for you.”

Then last night, I was channel surfing and came across the Samuel L. Jackson movie The Samaritan (you know …. ’cause God has a sense of humor and throws me a curve ball via a movie with a Biblical name). The movie ends with this quote, “If you keep on doing what you’ve always done, you keep on being what you’ve always been. Nothing changes unless you make it change. I know what it sounds like, but every morning when I wake up, I think about what that really means. Nothing changes unless you make it change.”

I guess I need to find the strength and the courage to take my fingers out of my ears, let go of my comfort zone, and make that change.

Stop Yelling

7 thoughts on “Stop Yelling At Me!

  1. This is a great post – and I feel like I’m in exactly the same position. I’m apathetic and complaining about doing the same things day in and day out, but I justify staying where I am because of a flexible schedule and secure salary. Thanks for the kick in the pants. Best to us both.

    1. Thank you for the response, T.D., and I am flattered my words can serve as a kick in the pants for you. Personally, I know if I tell myself enough times, I will eventually get around to making the changes I want and need to make. Hopefully capturing those thoughts here in my blog will get me closer and closer. Wishing you a wonderful 2014, and best of luck to you as well.

  2. Been there and done that. You know my story. It is understandably difficult to change because you think it invalidates the years you spent at your job. It does not, you will always have the benefit of what you have experienced. It is easy to get comfortable with the security of steady pay and other predictable benefits, our society and our generation is largely based on these ideals. You have outgrown the value of the efforts you receive from the current job. That’s OK and your are aloud to “change your mind” (SH plug). You will make the next “thing” work as just well, if not better.

    1. Thanks, Andrew. For me, the biggest drawback I face (and fear) is the financial commitment I have for my kids. Making a jump is easy, and I know that I am validated not by the diploma on my wall, but by the person I am to others. That being said, it’s tough to see how I will be able to make a jump and still provide, both the way I’m used to and expected to, for my kids. I know I need to stop looking for all the answers first, but when it comes to the impacts of changes in my life, it’s not just me that’s impacted.

    1. Thanks, Renee. It’s going to be an interesting year. And the next time we see each other, there will be less of me to see (thanks again for the info on the FMD). Lee and I kick it off Monday morning.

  3. “Oceans” by Hillsong United

    You call me out upon the waters
    The great unknown where feet may fail
    And there I find you in the mystery
    In oceans deep
    My faith will stand

    And I will call upon your name
    And keep my eyes above the waves
    When oceans rise
    My soul will rest in your embrace
    For I am yours and you are mine

    Your grace abounds in deepest waters
    Your sovereign hand will be my guide
    Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me
    You’ve never failed and you won’t start now

    So I will call upon your name
    And keep my eyes above the waves
    When oceans rise
    My soul will rest in your embrace
    For I am yours and you are mine

    Spirit Lead where my trust is without borders
    Let me walk upon the waters
    Wherever you would call me
    Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
    And my faith will be made stronger
    In the presence of my savior

    I will call upon your name
    Keep my eyes above the water
    My soul will rest in your embrace
    I am Yours and You are mine

Leave a Reply

