We Are Warriors

I was forwarded this video with the question: Why does God allow children to die?

It’s definitely a tough question to answer, and one that cannot be flippantly discussed. In formulating a written respone, the words just kept coming and coming, so I decided to share them here on my blog.

I will admit, I wrote this after having taken part in a 4-day Christian retreat for men. My words are undoubtedly influenced by the sessions and conversations still fresh in my mind, but they are what I believe and what I hold to be true.

We are not born into a world of peace. We are born into a world that is in the middle of a battle between God’s love and affection for us and Satan’s contempt and hatred of God.

It is not the God allows these children to die. God does not promise us a life without pain or tragedy. What God does promise us is an eternity of peace once we place our faith in Him and once our time here on earth – on this battlefield – is done.

God also calls on us to fight for those who cannot. To reach out to the poor and sick and hungry. Sam Harris’ video is compelling and heart-breakingly tragic, but it is not God that is allowing the things that kill so many children to happen. It is we who allow it.

The human race has the capability right now to prevent malaria, famine, pneumonia, and measles. It is we who start and perpetuate wars. It is we who have the capacity to prevent and treat AIDS. Although I do not have a solid answer for Cancer, I can say that we as humans have created many of the environmental factors that cause Cancer.

So my answer is, do not be angry at God. Be angry at ourselves. We need to turn to God and ask for His wisdom and guidance as we seek solutions that will prevent famine and disease. Solutions that will end wars. Solutions that will prevent 1000 children from dying every hour.

These casualties are a result of us not standing up to the evils of greed and corruption. It is our responsibility to act. We are commanded by God to act on His behalf and for His Kingdom.

James 2:17 “So you see, faith by itself isn’t enough. Unless it produces good deeds, it is dead and useless.”

We see 1000 children die per hour and we feel that God has abandoned them. It is we who have abandoned them because we are living a life of passive faith. Every battle against evil matters, from standing up to corruption to renouncing the negative thoughts Satan plants in our heads.

This crisis will not be solved overnight, but it begins with us taking action through our faith in God and being relentless in our fight against evil (and complacency and greed and indifference).

5 thoughts on “We Are Warriors

  1. “living a life of passive faith….” You have written a very powerful and passionate post. I read your post today and work and wanted to read it again this evening with more time. I think about the number of children in foster care in just our state…let alone our country. Children who want and need homes. Children who want to love and be loved. And here I am…”living a life of passive faith.” My prayer is that this post will touch many hearts as it as touched mine.

    1. Thank you, Rick. The idea that I can move someone or inspire someone with my words is truly humbling. We all can do so much more to help those in need, and even the tiniest of actions and gestures can go a long way in the love s of those less fortunate. I am so glad that my post had such a positive impact on you.

  2. Thought-provoking post (and video clip) today, Gil. I’m with Rick about the phrase “passive faith” and I’m asking myself, “What actions am I taking to have an impacting faith?” I often wonder if the petitions I sign for this cause or that make any difference in changing public policy or if the $$ I contribute actually makes it to those who need the help. I may never have those answers, but I do know this: Individually, we can’t do everything to try and meet every need, but we can each do something, in our own way and with the means we’ve been provided. Since children are near and dear to God’s heart and since they are our future, it seems only wise to focus on theirs. You definitely touched my heart with your words. Now, I pray the Lord will show me several definitive ways to that faith into action.

    1. Thank you, CJ. Your reply is truly humbling.

      Having written all I did, I know I don’t do nearly enough and a large part of my life also seems to be ‘passive faith’. It’s amazing to think what we could accomplish if we all stepped forward to make a difference.

  3. “Suffering, failure, loneliness, sorrow, discouragement, and death will be part of your journey, but the Kingdom of God will conquer all these horrors. No evil can resist grace forever.” – Brennan Manning

Leave a Reply

