096/365 Setting the Standard

I’ve written before about how I feel my vocation in life is to be an exceptional father. It’s something I feel I am blessed to be able to recognize as the calling that God wants me to follow.

That being said, I know I continue to stumble along the way as a dad. Not every moment is perfect, but I like to think I am not only doing the best I can, but also getting better at it every day.

As a blogger, one of the most fun things about writing is reading other bloggers’ work, connecting with them online, and engaging with them as part of this cyber-community. Through my growth group at church, I was introduced to the writing of Courtney Peterson. She happens to be the daughter of Renee and Mark Peterson, the couple who host our growth group every week in their home.

In perusing Courtney’s awesome work, I came across a post she wrote for Father’s Day last year. It left me speechless, and I immediately new THAT was my new standard for being a dad. It’s tough to measure or quantify your success as a parent, but if you have your child write you something like Courtney did for her dad, then you know you’ve done something amazingly right.

So to commend my friend Mark, I creepily stole ‘borrowed’ a picture from his Facebook of him with his daughter Courtney. Well done, Mr. Peterson. Well done indeed!

 

2 thoughts on “096/365 Setting the Standard

  1. Gil, Thank you for your extremely kind words/thoughts. Having four daughters is an amazing blessing — and one of the most important “vocations” we are entrusted with in this life. I can tell that you and Lee are awesome parents just by the transparency and humility you show in your lives. Those two characteristics will yield amazing benefits for you when they become adults — a truly special relationship!

    1. Thank you, Mark. I am so very blessed to have such wonderful children, and a fantastic relationship with each of them. I always like to think I am doing things right with regards to my parenting, and reading this tribute Courtney wrote for you serves as a positive reminder that being a great dad starts with loving unconditionally. Thanks again for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

