095/365 Godsmacked

I love my growth group.

For those of you who may not know what that is, through our church – Relevant Church in Tampa – we have groups that meet weekly and cover a variety of topics. In our group, we’re reviewing the book The 4:8 Principle.

It’s a wonderful book and our group is so very awesome. I found myself looking around the room this evening and I was left amazed by how incredible our collection of individuals is. I’ve never been a part of a group this size – we have 13 participants – in which everyone is so open, down to earth, trusting, and accepting. There is no pretentiousness, there is no judging. It is truly an honest and loving group that exudes fellowship and reinforces my belief of what church truly is about.

In the course of discussion this evening, I was reminded of how this past week I had drifted away from the principles mentioned in the book. I had allowed myself to wander from the path of my faith journey and off into the margins of sin and darkness. I was reminded of how I had failed, and tonight’s group was a swift kick in the butt to get me back on track to where I want and need to be.

It was a humbling reminder, or as I like to say, “I was Godsmacked.”

We talked about how in the times of our greatest achievements and positive experiences, we have to remain diligent with the steps we take along our path to God, for it seems those are the times we’re most vulnerable to our own human condition.

This picture serves as an excellent reminder of that lesson.*

*Photo rights property of Hiei Jaganshi.

3 thoughts on “095/365 Godsmacked

  1. Gil, It was a wonderful group experience last night. Thank you and our group for allowing me to get my life back on track. You and Lee are wonderful.

    1. Thank YOU, Vickie, for both the comment and for making the decision to be a part of our fantastic group. I love your willingness to share with us and contribute to the conversation. I just know we’ve tapped into something truly special.

Leave a Reply

