020/365 T.G.I. Awesome

Being divorced, my kids have primary residence with their mom. I still see them just about every day, but there are weeks where several days pass and I don’t get a chance to hang out with them at all. This was one of those weeks.

As Friday rolled around, I picked them up at their mom’s house and we went out to dinner. I still find it fun and exciting for Lee, me, and the kids to go out to a restaurant and just have that time together as a family.

We came home and Natalie was excited to start putting together some of the stuff we picked up last weekend for her bathroom. The bathroom makeover was part of her Christmas present, and although there’s still much to do, she got a good head start on the re-do of her bathroom.

Having consumed too much time in helping Natalie, Daniel insisted it was now my turn to help him out with something. Still a little depressed following our Minecraft failure from last week, Daniel was determined to try and install a new mod for his favorite game. After a couple of errors on my part – one of which Daniel was able to figure out and left me feeling like a complete idiot – we successfully installed the Too Many Items Mod for Minecraft. Upon restarting the game, all I heard as I walked out of Danny’s room was, “This is so cool. THIS IS SOOOOO COOL!”. I’m pretty sure he’s still playing MC at this moment.

 

As far as Friday’s go, this one was very awesome indeed.

And it was also one where I took a moment to literally thank God for the blessing that is my family.

2 thoughts on “020/365 T.G.I. Awesome

  1. I don’t know if I have said this to you, but I am always awed by the work you and your ex and Lee put into being a complete family for your kids. I know these things on a Friday are small, normal moments, but those are the ones that can go out the window after a divorce. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve told people about your family arrangement of what *can* be. I am sure the three of you put in a monumental effort, particularly in the beginning to create this situation of love and there is no doubt to me that you all realize how well-worth-it it is. But I just wanted you to know that from someone looking in from the outside, it is a truly awesome thing to see.

    1. Thank you so much, Regina. I really am blessed, given the divorce from my wife, that we’ve maintained a wonderful relationship for the kids from day one. It truly is amazing what can happy when you let go of pettiness, let go of anger, and allow forgiveness into a situation. It’s the reason I can’t say enough how much I admire my ex and what she’s done in setting an example for others. I’m proud of what I’ve been able to do as a father to my children, but the real credit goes to their mom.

Leave a Reply

