Every Day is Thanksgiving

As I sit here a week removed the food fest that was Thanksgiving, I wanted to take a moment to jot down some thoughts that have been rattling in my mind. Even though this has been an up and down week with my wife having been away for four days and a head cold that kicked my butt in the middle of the week, I can’t help but think of the many wonderful and amazing blessings in my life. This got me to thinking about how every day should be like Thanksgiving (sans the belly expanding food, of course). We should take a moment every day to just reflect and be grateful. There are literally billions of other people on the planet whose lives are far worse than mine can ever be. So no matter how bad a day I may have, or how crappy traffic can be, or how rude the person at the checkout counter may act, I just need to remind myself to be thankful for the employment that lead to the bad day, the car that put me in the crappy traffic, and the financial opportunity to make a purchase at the checkout counter.

Today in particular, I am so very thankful for:

  • My good friend Scott and the lunch meetings we have on occasion
  • Living in Florida and being able to wear shorts and flip-flops in December
  • Being able to drive with the windows down and the sun-roof open
  • Being a part of a wonderful church community in which I can serve my neighbors and be there for them
  • My kids sleeping over and being able to hang out with them
  • The Interwebs and the fact I am able to share these thoughts with you

Life may not always be great, but it really always is.

A View From My Sunroof
One thought on “Every Day is Thanksgiving

  1. I know that I’ve been particularly thankful for you and our long distance telephone conversations this week, even if they were very brief. Thank you for being there for me.

Leave a Reply

