Morning Glory

Most people start their morning with a cup of coffee. In fact, some people – like my sister-in-law – can’t even function without their daily dose of java.  It’s the reason there are so many millionaires residing in Seattle.  For me, my morning begins with a TV show.

I have the luxury of having a job with enough flexibility that I can work from home when I need/want to.  In the course of utilizing this flexibility, I have found that instead of driving into the office during the morning rush I can wait until later in the morning and then head into the office (if I do at all).  So as I sit at my dining table and work through e-mails and incident records and other boring computer related stuff, I have my TV on in the background tuned into ESPN2.

Every morning from 6:00 – 10:00 AM, Mike Greenberg and Mike Golic host their radio show Mike and Mike in the Morning.  This show is simulcast on television via ESPN2.  Throw in the fact my Verizon FiOS service (shameless corporate plug) carries ESPN2 in HD and my mornings really have become quite perfect.

So imagine how I felt earlier this week when Mike and Mike reminded me, and all their viewers and listeners for that matter, they were going to be broadcasting their Thursday show from the ESPN Club at the Disney Boardwalk in Lake Buena Vista.  That’s only 80 miles for me door-to-door.  This began the justification thought process about living in Florida and how there is so much to do here, but only if we choose to take advantage of it.

So I notified my boss I’d be taking off half the day, set my alarm clock and took advantage of the fact I live in Florida.  I got up this morning waaaayyyyyyyyyy earlier than I had in a long time (thanks to my buddy’s phone call that woke me up after having slept through my alarm), jumped in my truck and headed out.  As with most things that require some investment in time, there was that half-awake thought process that made me think this was a stupid venture.  “You should be sleeping” I told myself.  “That bed was nice and cozy, and here you are 79 miles from where you are going.”

I shook off the negatives and allowed myself to get psyched about the day.  I picked up my friend Larry and continued off to Lake Buena Vista.  We arrived at the Disney Boardwalk and were lucky to find two of the few remaining seats for the show.  For those of you not familiar with Mike and Mike, the format is simply the two hosts sitting behind a desk and feeding off each other with regards to the show’s contents.  They work off notes and laptops and primarily do a radio show with the only difference being the cameras role for the TV audience.

It was a great experience to see the show live and get a sneak peek at the behind the scenes efforts and antics. I also got to meet Greenberg and Golic, get their autographs and have my picture taken with them.  As usual, they were sharp, witty, and filled me with envy.  Their job seems so fun to do, and I still can’t believe these guys get paid to do this every morning.

And I still can’t believe how lucky and blessed I am to have had this opportunity today.  They say you should make lemonade when life throws you lemons.  On that same note, when life sprinkles some sugar your way, be sure to savor it up!

Leave a Reply

