Little Blessings

You’ve heard it all before.  ‘Silver Linings’ and ‘Blessings in Disguise’.  I think maybe I will come up with a variation on the latter.  How does ‘Divinity Incognito’ sound?  No matter how you slice it, there is always a cliché for the good things, no matter how little, that comes out of a bad situation.  Just ask my mom.  She’s the queen of clichés, and I think I can write an entire entry just about her catch phrases. <Hmmm.  Note to self….>

Today was no exception.  Unless you live under a rock, you are aware these past 14 months have been choc-full-a hurricane activity, especially for those of us here in Florida.  I like to think it is Mother Nature’s metaphorical analogy to my personal life, but I digress.  Today I worked from home as a result of Hurricane Wilma’s pass thru the wind-blown state.  The meteorological equivalent of a drive by.  I was not sure what to expect, exactly, as the storm tore through Southern Florida, but to play it safe I stayed at home.

Apparently, most of Tampa Bay did as well, with all schools and most offices closed as a precaution.  As it turns out, my kids came to spend the day with me since their mother had to go into work.  So what I thought would be a doomy and gloomy day of working from my home office – I chuckle when I say that, and if you have seen my apartment you know why – turned out to be quite an active day for Mr. Mommy.

So between answering e-mail, replying to voice mails and helping my son finish the Darth Maul level on the Lego Star Wars video game (only one of the best video games ever!), the true blessing was in getting to spend time with my kids.  Time I would normally not have had with them if not for the hurricane.  Topping that was the fact the day, which started as wet, cold and windy, turned out to be just gorgeous.  Around 12:30 the skies just completely cleared, the sun came out, and the breeze, although gusty at times, was calming and soothing.  I decided to take a break in the late afternoon and just take a walk with my kids.

My children love exploring the various aspects of the landscaping around my apartment complex, and took to hiding underneath the fanning leaves of a short palm tree.  They had to climb about a foot and a half of landscaping stone to get to their ‘hideout’ spot, and watching them just brought back memories of me as a rough and tumble kid.  Then suddenly, Natalie shrieked and jumped down from her play spot.  “Bees, Daddy! I saw bees.”  Sure enough, on the underside of one of the branches was a wasp hive.

I need to clarify that my son Daniel is anaphylactic.  When stung by insects (mosquitoes, ants, etc.), his body reacts in a significantly more severe manner than would a child with normal tolerance to insect bites.  I have no idea as to how he would react to a wasp sting, and I hope I never have to find out.  Common sense would dictate that it would not be good, and in the worst of cases it could be life-threatening.

Some may chalk up Natalie’s heads-up eyesight to dumb luck.  Not me.  This was God looking out for my kids.  This was an angel directing my daughter’s vision to a potential danger.  This was Divinity Incognito.  And when it was all said and done, the only thing left for me to do was look up at Heaven, give thanks, and fully appreciate everything with which God has blessed me.

Just before I sat down to write this entry, I got word from a friend of mine that her mom is not well.  The situation is not pretty, and my friend was quite upset.  We spoke for a little bit, but there was no obvious resolution to her mother’s situation.  We’d just have to wait and see.

There is no explaining why things happen the way they do.  Maybe it’s to remind us that each person’s path is different.  Maybe it’s to remind us that sometimes we need to take care of ourselves first before we can try and take care of someone else.  Maybe it’s to show us that no matter what the history or circumstance, you can always count on friendship.  Maybe my mom was right all along.  “No hay mal que por bien no venga.”  There is no bad from which good does not come.  I believe this to be true, no matter how bad the bad.

Leave a Reply

