Good Things Come

The World Series starts tonight.  In fact, I think it’s on right now, so I need to make this snappy.  I am very excited about this year’s Series for several reasons.  First of all, neither of the teams playing is called the Yankees or the Red Sox. Hurray for that! Secondly, there is so much intrigue around the historical sub-plots in this match up.

This is the first World Series appearance for the Houston Astros in franchise history.  They began play on April 10, 1962 (they were the Colt .45’s back then), which makes tonight an event 15,672 days in the making.  That’s nothing if you look at the team in the other dugout.  The Chicago White Sox last played a World Series game on October 8, 1959 (16,574 days), and have not hoisted a championship trophy since October 15, 1917 (31,687 days).  Yes, that’s a looooooong time!

On a similar note, the second baseman for the Astros is Craig Biggio.  He’s been in the league for 18 seasons, and this is his first trip to the World Series.  That translates to 2,564 games, or 6,236 days.  Can you FEEL the theme?  So before I do my typical segue to tie all of this into my personal life, I need to give a shout out to the Alabama Crimson Tide.  Their football team beat the Tennessee Volunteers today for the first time in Tuscaloosa since 1930.  You guessed it, that’s 27,004 days.

There are 330 days in 11 months.  It was exactly 11 months between my proverbial ‘Day 1’ and ‘Day 2’.  I know that may not make a whole lot of sense to you, but it really does to me.   The fact is that there are times when you have to tolerate the ups and downs of life in order to realize a dream or to achieve a goal.  As much as I hate to admit it, there is a lot of truth to the saying ‘Good things come to those who wait.’  I am by no means a patient person, but being a parent and having lived through this past year has forced me to be patient.

You can’t hurry fate.  You can’t rush destiny.  And all of this plays into the phrase ‘Everything happens for a reason.’  Is it cliché’? Yes.  Is it used as a panacea for when things get tough?  Absolutely!  Is it true? ……. I have to believe it is.  I DO believe it is.  And I believe that just like in sports, where winning begets winning and phrases like ‘playoff experience’ actually means something, the gap between ‘Day 2’ and ‘Day 3’ will be significantly less than 330 days.  There are moments in your life that are defining, and those lead not to more ‘moments’, but rather to the ‘life’ for which you’ve always been searching.

Here’s hoping you always keep the faith, and that you keep counting the days until your dream becomes a reality.  I know I will, one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

