Dogging It

I was introduced today to the concept of dogging.  Not literally introduced! Remember, my mom may read this!  What I mean is that I was asked if I had ever heard of the phrase ‘dogging’.  For some reason I thought it had something to do with hip-hop or acting like a gangsta’. “Yo. Let’s bounce, Dawg!”

Instead, and much to my pleasantly aroused surprise, the term dogging refers to the trend of having sex in a public place while others watch.  I swear I am not making this up!  Now, if you have read my recap of my trip to Key West, you already know my opinion on sex in public.  But I really think this is taking it all just a bit too far ……. maybe.

I guess it all depends on the relationship you have with your special someone.  It also depends on the boundaries you set with your partner in terms of sex, intimacy and ‘sharing’.  Personally, I think I would fail miserably at dogging.  Performance anxiety aside, I just think the pressure to do your best and the knowledge that deep down inside your audience is critiquing your every move; I don’t think I would be able to perform – with or without the help of magic pills.

But dogging can also refer to doing something half-assed, as I did on my last entry (A Little Note).  I posted two quotes I received without making any reference whatsoever to the source of the quotes.  The reason for which I posted them is very personal, but given this is somewhat of a public forum, it was irresponsible of me to allow the quotes to perhaps be interpreted as original works of mine.

Thankfully, both quotes are credited to that great, literary giant Anonymous (aka Author Unknown).  It’s my understanding that Anonymous does not accept royalties for her work (only the brilliance of a woman’s mind can produce time and time again such an eclectic library of quotes), so I am happy knowing that I just saved myself a couple of bucks.

As I was getting dogged for my haphazard posting, I was asked how I would feel if someone stopped reading my blog because they realized  what I wrote was not my own.  I’ve mentioned before that I write for me AND I write for you.  I love the idea of people reading my entries and providing their feedback, both positive and negative.  I wouldn’t go as far to say that I would be devastated if someone would stop reading, but it definitely would be sad.

So, to Ms. Anonymous, my apologies for not giving you the mad props you deserve.  The first quote I was able to find on QuoteGarden.  The second I found on a GeoCities site dedicated to, you guessed it, quotes.  And since I’m at it, I liked this quote from the GeoCities site, also credited to Ms. Anonymous.  “Guys are like stars, there are a million but only one can make your dreams come true.”

Twinkle twinkle, baby. *

*The phrase “Twinkle twinkle, baby” is taken from the movie Be Cool starring John Travolta and Vince Vaughn.  Per IMDB, the screenplay for Be Cool (2005) was written by Peter Steinfeld, although the novel was written by Elmore Leonard and first published in 2002.

Leave a Reply

