Smooth Operator

Have you ever been totally amazed?  Have you ever been totally blown away by a live performance?  Have you ever been left in absolute awe of a singer’s ability to perform and entertain and, oh yeah, touch the soul?  Well that’s how I feel after watching Michael Buble’ last night.

Michael who?  Michael Bubble? Noooooo. Boo-Blay, as in “It’s scary how easy it is to get laid after one of his concerts.”  Well, in theory at least.   Michael, or MB as I like to call him <we’re tight like that>, is the a-typical lounge singer without the lounge.  He’s everything Sinatra was and everything Harry Connick Jr. wishes he could be.  And on top of the superb voice and stunning, debonair style, MB is just funny and down-to-earth.

He has a way of captivating his audience and making you feel right at home.  I have to admit his concert last night ranks up there as one of the best performances I have ever seen.  It wasn’t just the music.  It was also how he engaged with the fans, telling jokes in between numbers and running out into the crowd.  His personality is very Clooney-esque <’Cause me and George are tight like that, too>, and the best part is ……… the endless stream of adoring female fans!!!!

OMG!  It was like walking into Toys R Us for the first time as a kid!  The possibilities appeared to be endless.  At one point MB encouraged everyone to get up out of their seats and dance.  Within minutes, the entire Orchestra seating area of the Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center was packed with nothing but ladies.  Too bad I was in the nose bleed seats because the thought crossed my mind of just running down there with a handful of business cards.  “Hi, how are you? My name’s Gil.  And you are….?”  “Michael?  Yeah…… I love his music.  I have all of his CD’s.  Really?  You, too?  Wow.  Want to come back to my place for an after party?”  Like I said…….endless!

But crowd sampling aside, the show really was phenomenal.  First of all, TBPAC is probably the best place, acoustically, to catch a show.  Secondly, the choreography of the lighting was mesmerizing.  It’s truly amazing how lighting and the effects created with lighting can totally help set the tone of the song being performed.  The band was also superb, and it complemented MB’s smooth voice the way a freshly opened Coke compliments good rum.

And of course there was Michael.  MB, who will be thirty in September, is definitely one cool cat.  He brings a charged enthusiasm to his performances, and he takes the time recognize, acknowledge and thank not just the members of the band, but also the members of the audience.  It’s always great to see confident talent wrapped up in sincere humility, and everything about MB screams genuine class.  I definitely admire anyone that can carry themselves, and an entire show, with such grace and flare.  No wonder the ladies love him.  I guess you can say I have a new man-crush target.  <laugh>

And today’s lesson, boys and girls, is simple.  No matter how great the talent or how huge the performance, sincerity and genuineness always trump flash and self-adoration.  It’s not about “Look at me”, but rather about “Thank you very much”.  I am sure MB takes a moment every now and then to bask in the limelight of his newfound success.  But if he does he must do so in private, because on stage it’s all about the music and all about the fans.

I hope you all get a chance to watch him perform one day. And fellas, if a woman ever asks you to take her to see MB live in concert……. DO IT! Trust me! You won’t regret it.

Leelee, thanks for introducing me to the magic of MB and for sharing and helping make this night a very wonderful and memorable experience.  I hope this night was as special for you as you are to me.

Leave a Reply

