Best Father’s Day Ever?

Yesterday was Father’s Day and my initial plan was to sit at home, watch ‘Field of Dreams’, and cry myself to sleep after finding the bottom of a bottle of tequila.  Lucky for me, I was invited to go boating instead.  So I did.  And what I thought would be a miserable day ended up being the best Father’s Day ever!

Don’t get me wrong.  I spent all of Saturday with my kids because I knew that I would want to spend Father’s Day alone. This was the first FD since I moved out and the first FD without my dad, so the stage was set for a high-level pity party.  But as with just about everything over the past 9 months, my friends were there and came to the rescue.

And sometimes we need to be rescued.  We need to free ourselves from the anchors we cast from our hearts.  The thoughts of loss and pain and living life as a tortured soul.  And although those thoughts provide clarity at times, there are moments when we need to put them aside and allow ourselves to escape the harsh truths and the brutal realities of our lives.  We need to allow our spirits to set sail and see where the winds of fate and life take us.

Is it me or is there a nautical theme building up?

Speaking of nautical themes, I need to get back to the boating.  I won’t get into many details about the excursion (what happens on the Sea-Doo stays on the Sea-Doo), but I do have to mention a couple of things and give mad props to those that made it possible.  From the beer funneling to the ‘sudden exposure’, a good time was had by all!

To Mr. Storm, thanks again for taking me out.  It was an absolute blast, and you are 100% correct…….it IS good to be you!  To Melissa, what else can I say but … WOW! Oh, and I will keep that little fish incident between just you and me <wink>.  To Jeff …”El Jefe” … welcome to the Sunshine State.  And THIS, baby, is why we live in Florida.

Leelee, what can I say that hasn’t already been said?  You’ve been there for me in more ways than you know.  I know the view ahead is not as clear as the road behind, but all I can tell you is that we’ll just have to see what happens.  Thank you, again, for making this Father’s Day so remarkably memorable and special!  Did I mention it was the best Father’s Day ever?!?!?!?! <smile>   Oh, and BTW, the word we were looking for is Carinhition.

Leave a Reply

