The Sun Will Rise

November 18, 2004
January 1, 2005
January 25, 2005
March 27, 2005
May 24, 2005
Today……

No matter when or how many times you say it, goodbye is still goodbye.  Yet what’s so good about saying bye?  About letting go?  About forcing yourself (or trying to at least) to not look back?  I do look back and see a pattern of falling into the same situation over and over and over.  The CD of my heart stuck on repeat.  (I would have gone with the broken record reference, but I am trying to win over the younger crowd).

And some would argue it’s simply the toils of a hopeless romantic.  A fool in love lost in his ways.  Fast forward only to find a hopeless fool wondering how it all got this way.  But as I mentioned before, I have no regrets.  The memories I carry are enough for several lifetimes.  And, just like that Mike and the Mechanics song (so much for that young crowd thing), don’t shed a tear for me.  My life will go on, as will everyone else’s.  The sun will rise tomorrow.

And I have been reminded of that almost everyday by my friends.  Sure the pains of heartache are tough to deal with, but the sun will rise tomorrow.   Sure the memories make it difficult to not look back, but the sun will rise tomorrow.  Sure you feel shorted by fate, destiny and God……..but the sun will rise tomorrow.

And one particular friend of mine, an angel if you will, sent me an e-mail today to remind me of just that.  The e-mail contained the lyrics to yet another Garth Brooks song.  And I know I have been quoting lyrics lately, but music – and the stories behind them – can be very therapeutic when you’re feeling down, out and alone.  The name of the song is Unanswered Prayers, and the gist of the story is that God has a plan for us all, and He sometimes lets prayers go unanswered so as to guide us down the road He wants us to follow.

Like I have written before, it’s not our place to fight it or even understand it.  But rather, we must accept God’s will and have faith that He allows us to experience the things we do for a reason.  We may not like it (Lord knows I don’t), but that’s the way things are.  Life is what happens between making plans, and it is in dealing with pain and heartache that we stumble across gems of new joy and hope.  We discover the possibilities that abound on a new path we never even knew existed.

It’s never easy to say goodbye.  It’s incredibly difficult to let go and move on. I can’t even imagine a life without the one person I prayed for and desired for so long.   But the sun will rise tomorrow, and “some of God’s greatest gifts are unanswered prayers.”

Leave a Reply

