Something to Consider

Having dealt with a world class migraine yesterday (and I am not one to get migraines), being tired, and still in a very pensive and reflective mood, I am going to cop out on this blog entry and defer to Billy Joel.

Like Genesis, Billy Joel is for me comfort music.  And although there are many of his songs to which I can relate (Vienna is the one with which I identify the most), I would like to post the lyrics to the song Summer Highland Falls, which I feel are very appropriate at this time.

They say that these are not the best of times
But they’re the only times I’ve ever known
And I believe there is a time for meditation
In cathedrals of our own
Now I have seen that sad surrender in my lover’s eyes
And I can only stand apart and sympathize

For we are always what our situations hand us
It’s either sadness or euphoria

So we’ll argue and we’ll compromise
And realize that nothing’s ever changed
For all our mutual experience
Our separate conclusions are the same
Now we are forced to recognize our inhumanity
A reason coexists with our insanity

And though we choose between reality and madness
It’s either sadness or euphoria

How thoughtlessly we dissipate our energies
Perhaps we don’t fulfill each other’s fantasies
And as we stand upon the ledges of our lives
With our respective similarities

It’s either sadness or euphoria

I guess at the end of the day, you either will or you won’t.  But unlike Yoda, I do believe it’s important to try.

KML…. My heartfelt condolences for your loss.  I will keep you and your family in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

