Have a Good Weekend

Why is it that every Friday before we leave work we wish everyone a good weekend? It’s a good thing I guess. A sense of universal cordiality. And I am very glad to report that I had a great weekend!

I don’t know why, but good weekends have just seemed hard to come by lately. Usually they are bogged down by chores or bad weather, but this weekend was just awesome. First of all, the weather was absolutely superb. Weather like this is why I live in Florida. Clear skies, relatively cool temperatures, and a slight breeze from the West. Just great!

My kids spent the night with me on Friday evening. We stayed up late watching Empire Strikes Back (”Luke ….. I am your father!”), and then Danny stayed up REALLY late with me as I watched “Harold and Kumar go to White Castle”. I know it’s probably not appropriate to watch that movie with a three year old, but it’s never too early to start my son on booby training. (”Daniel …… I am your father ……. and THAT is a nice rack!)

Took the kids to the pool on Saturday, and it’s amazing what we will do for our children. For example, jumping into 72 degree water when there is a strong cross wind over the pool deck. Sure your body acclimates to the temperature, but it’s tough to look cool in front of the college coeds when your lips are quivering and your privates have retreated into your sternum. But it was all worth it because now my tan is simply kick’n!

Saturday night called for dinner, drinks and a movie with an old friend. It’s always so good to get caught up with people you haven’t seen in a while, especially when margaritas are involved.

I went motorcycle riding with a buddy of mine on Sunday. Again, the weather was just perfect, and the ‘sight seeing’ was equally as impressive. For those of you who may consider coming to Tampa for a bike ride, be weary of Bayshore Drive. That road is simply hazardous. Not because of traffic or road conditions, but because it’s virtually impossible to keep your eyes on the road. OMG! All I have to say is, thank goodness for spandex!

I wrapped up my evening by coming home, wiping down my motorcycle – and the drool stains – and winding down with Genesis on the stereo. Genesis always takes me back to a place and time in my life that was just all good. Between Invisible Touch and We Can’t Dance (1987 – 1992), life was just simple and fun and uncomplicated and full of promise. I guess you can say that Genesis is my mental reset music.

I made a couple of ‘touch-base’ calls to friends, ate a couple of peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and started typing. So here I find myself with another blog entry under my belt, Phil Collins belting out tunes, and a very relaxed grin on my face.

I thank God for moments like this where the problems of my world seem so far away, and the love of my family and friends serve not only as the support I crave, but also as the inspiration I need. Only five more days until another weekend. I hope the next one is as great as this one (and I have a sneaking suspicion it will be), and I hope that all of your weekends, as well as everything in between, are everything you want them to be.

Leave a Reply

