Hell’s PR

We are often challenged with situations in life that do not necessarily bring out the best in us. The situations that make us act P.C., just maybe not think P.C. For those of you in IT, you know exactly what I am talking about. You know about the ‘ethnic challenges’ that exist in the workplace, specifically with the unbalanced growth of one demographic in particular. Is that curry I smell?

Don’t get me wrong. Part of life is learning to deal with and manage change. A very good friend of mine once told me that a person’s ability to adapt is directly proportional to his/her level of intelligence. But just because we do adapt, it doesn’t mean we have to like it. And I want to make it clear that I understand and believe in the importance of treating everyone the same (i.e. discrimination). There are just some times when I am alone or with my VERY close circle of friends that I will verbally vent my frustrations. This venting is usually followed by the comment, “Dude, you’re going straight to hell for that one.”

Which got me thinking……Is going to hell REALLY such a bad thing? Think about it. Our understanding of hell is what we learn from religious teachings, which are directly taken from religious dogma. The Bible portrays hell as a brutal, torturous inferno in which souls spend an eternity in pain and suffering. But that is only because God wants everyone to go to Heaven. In essence, what we know of Hell maybe nothing more than celestial spin. Similar to how Republicans portray Democrats as bleeding-heart, liberal, tax-happy, Fonda loving commies……… but I digress.

I think the problem is that Hell really has no marketing department. Their PR agent is a guy with a severe tan and horns! What if Hell is like a really jamm’n rave party that just never ends? You can drink all you want and never get hung over, you would never have any problems picking up the ladies (and taking the home…..if you know what I’m saying), and there’s no cover! Plus, think of all the interesting conversations you can have in Hell. “Hey, John Wayne Gacy, what’s with the shovel? Oh, nevermind.”

I know what you’re thinking. I’m probably going straight to Hell for this entry, but all I can say is that I already have a table reserved.

But in all seriousness, it’s important to be yourself and be able to freely express you opinions, views and beliefs. It’s difficult to do so in today’s climate, out of fear of being labeled a racist or bigot or just out-of-touch. And as has been engrained in the minds of many young, white-collar workers, there is no tolerance for intolerance. But what you think and how you act are two different things, and sometimes I just feel like saying, “What the Hell!”

Speak your mind and be true to yourself. And remember………….. the buffet line starts in the back of the cave, next to the river of lava.

Leave a Reply

