Landslide

Happy Easter, everyone!

I am back from my personal spring break.  I didn’t go anywhere.  Just too busy/lazy to write.  So here I am ready to get everyone caught up on things. Jeeez.  Where do I begin?

Actually, I will start with a new beginning, given that it is Easter Sunday.  For many people, the symbolic meaning of Easter is that of starting anew.  Of rising from darkness and loss into a new life. Of moving forward in a new direction.  Sound familiar?

I’ve had so many songs playing in my head this weekend, but the one that sticks out is ‘Landslide’ by Stevie Nicks.

I took my love, I took it down
Climbed a mountain and I turned around
I saw my reflection in the snow covered hills
‘Till the landslide brought me down

Oh, mirror in the sky
What is love
Can the child within my heart rise above
Can I sail through the changing ocean tides
Can I handle the seasons of my life
…..I don’t know
…..I don’t know

Well, I’ve been afraid of changing
‘Cause I’ve built my life around you
But time makes you bolder
Children get older
And I’m getting older too

Sometimes it’s so easy to let yourself get buried in the landslide.  Just when you think you are on top of it all…… blam.  And it can be the smallest, most insignificant event that will trigger it.  The smallest action – or inaction – that sets off a turn of events that leaves you tumbling.

But I feel I am not so afraid anymore of the changes.  I feel that time, and circumstance, have made me bolder.  I feel that fate is not exclusive with her wand and she opens new, different doors for us just as she slams old ones shut.  I feel that as I get older, I need to grow up and allow the child within my heart to rise above.  And I am officially done paraphrasing the lyrics.

They say the only way to overcome your fears is to confront them, and for the longest time I have been so afraid of losing everything I ever wanted.  Well now I find myself like Lieutenant Dan in ‘Forrest Gump’, sitting atop the shrimp boat during a hurricane and challenging God.  I challenge fate to prove me wrong by moving on.  I challenge everything I thought made sense by letting go.  I will stare my fears right in the eye and smile, because I am feeling bolder and I am getting older.

The landslide may have brought me down, but I have no problems with getting right back up.

One thought on “Landslide

Leave a Reply

