Destiny

My kids love the Star Wars trilogy.  Whenever they come over to spend the night we inevitably end up watching one of the original 3 films.  And I love looking at my son during that pivotal scene in Episode V and telling him in my terrible attempt to imitate James Earl Jones, “Daniel. I am your father.”

But the Star Wars trilogy is more that just the best collection of fantasy films out there (sorry to all you LOTR fans, but there really is no comparison).  It is a study of life and destiny.  Of how we are all meant to do something specific in our lives and perhaps in the lives of others.  It’s about fate leading and guiding us.  About overcoming the obstacles in our lives to achieve that ultimate goal which we all have set for ourselves.

But is there such a thing as destiny?  If we are destined to accomplish something, does it matter what our decisions are today?  If we eventually are going to get there, is our role simply reduced to choosing between the short way or the long way?  The concept of destiny further diminishes the needs for “What If’s”, because everything happens for a reason, right?

Everything may happen for a reason, but I believe we are the captains of our own destiny.  We alone control the paths we follow.  We alone determine if we will chase a dream and make that pursuit worth the effort, or if we will take the easy way out.  It is up to us to not only recognize when fate gives us options along our journey, but also to consciously decide which option we will take.  Every fork in the road is fate smiling on us and asking, “Which way do you want to go?”

And we need to choose.  Everyone has different thought processes they follow when making a decision, but the key is to decide.  The key is to take command of your life and live it to the fullest.

Lee Ann Womack says it best in her song “I Hope You Dance”.  “I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance / Never settle for the path of least resistance / Livin’ might mean takin’ chances, but they’re worth takin’ / Lovin’ might be a mistake but it’s worth makin’”

Destiny does not exist with out conscious decisions.  Destiny cannot be fulfilled by merely standing still.  Life is not a passive activity.  Life is short and should not be wasted on uncertainties and “I don’t know”.  Make your own destiny and seize your future by being true to your heart and living life to its fullest.

I don’t know what my destiny is.  I like to think I have an idea and I like to think I am traveling down the path of fate.  But I will not make this journey with blinders over my eyes.  I will take the time to stop and smell the roses.  To enjoy the offerings that life gives us everyday.  To be cautiously reckless and intelligently immature.  To take Ms. Womack’s advice and dance!

Leave a Reply

