Friendship

Today is Thanksgiving and due to choices and decisions I made, I am spending it by myself.  Now don’t feel too sorry for me …. OK, maybe a little sorry …. but I know that I am going through this time in my life for a reason.  I know this is part of God’s plan (see previous blog posting), and it’s not for me to understand, but rather to accept.   I know I have to learn from this experience and move forward.  For me, the hard part is knowing how (again, see previous blog … <wink>).  And although I don’t have all the answers and I have no idea what lies ahead, I know two things will get me through.  Faith and Friendship.
You already know my feelings about faith, and no, I am not referring to the George Michael song from the late 80’s.  But let me talk to you about friendship.  Friendship is the manifestation of the happiness that unites us all.  The same happiness that does not exist in the absence of other people, or more specifically, friends.  There is something amazing about friendship.  It is more than a feeling.  It is an extension of love with a range so large, yet at the same time so specific.

We have friends at work, friends at school, and friends from the neighborhood.  We may call them acquaintances or buddies or pals.  We may know them only in passing, sometimes forgetting their names, or we may know them as the people we go out with routinely on Friday and Saturday nights.  They may be the neighbors who’s kids play with yours, or the person in accounting you have been dealing with for five years but have never met in person.

Then there are friends with whom you connect in spirit.  Friends with whom you make a bond where things do not have to be stated, but are still understood.  These are the people who in their own way guide you through the dark times.  These are the people who answer the phone at 3:00 AM when you have no where else to turn.  These are the people who listen, empathize and go out of their way to help you in a jam.  And on this Thanksgiving evening, these are the people for which I am thankful.

I mentioned in the home page of this site that I have too many people in my life who have helped and guided me that I cannot possibly name just one or two of my most admired.  I would like to take a minute to personally thank my friends who have helped me through the tough times, and will continue to be there in the future.  I know the road will get harder and darker before it gets better, and I know I will make it because I have God guiding me and my friends supporting me.  To all the individuals listed below, and those I may have omitted …..  THANKS!

Scottie, what can I say other than you have been there from the start.  Fritchy, we go back a long ways and we still have a long ways to go.  Leigh, part older brother, part pain in my side. Our friendship is truly one where it goes without saying.  Zoe, my Godmother.  Always there for me, even when I am not.  Laurie, your sincerity and empathy help me make it through the days.  Ashley, my ‘lil sis, you listen without judgment, and that means the world to me.  Angela, I am still amazed that we have this much confidence in each other.  I wouldn’t change a thing.  Sneakie, you listen with compassion and your wisdom has been my saving grace. Ale, even after everything, you still manage to find ways to be there for me. KML ……  I don’t know what happens next, but I do know I will always be your friend <143>.

Leave a Reply

