Mysterious Ways

The ancient Greeks discussed and theorized many things.  But quite possibly, their greatest philosophical challenge was pondering the existence of God.  And this philosophical dilemma is not limited to toga wearers of the Mediterranean.  It is a question that has transfixed human beings across time, cultures and experiences.

And although I like to think the answer is absolute, it is absolutely up to the individual perspective of the person pondering the question.  If there is a God, why do bad things happen?  Why do children get sick and die?  Why do we face hardship and suffering?  Why can’t the Devil Rays win more than 70 games per season?  The truth is, IMHO, that we all internalize God, or the concept of a higher being.  We make ourselves the center of the context, and we are not so much asking “Is there a God?” but rather “Why is God doing this to me?”

And it’s not so much a matter of ego or self-centeredness as it is a matter of natural, human introspection.  When your car is running fine, you don’t think twice about why it’s running so well.  It’s natural and normal and all you worry about is your kid leaving some sort of stain on you leather seats.  But when you have to take it to the shop for whatever reason, you start wondering why it’s not working the way it’s supposed to.  You start focusing on the burden of maintenance, and whether or not Julio at the shop will leave some sort of stain on your leather seats.

I believe there is a God.  I believe words like fate, chance, coincidence, and luck are all ways we acknowledge God’s guiding hand.  I believe in the saying that God works in mysterious ways, and that everything happens for a reason.  I believe that as humans we are not capable of understanding God’s will, and that chaos theory is a gross misinterpretation of divine intervention.

In the past several months, I have had chance encounters, episodes of extreme coincidence and lots of luck (both good and bad).  And in the past week, I have done nothing but ponder why fate can be so cruel and at the same time so rewarding.  It’s not for me to understand or figure out.  All I know is that God exists and is present in my life.  And God continues to grace me with the good health of my children, the love of my family and gift to sit at a keyboard and express myself with my writing.  And yesterday God smiled down on me yet once again, and blessed me with a new chapter in my life.

Yes, God does exist, and God does work in mysterious and gloriously beautiful ways.

Leave a Reply

